

# Memo

To: Governing Board for the Collegiate High School

From: Dr. Cristie Kedroski, Interim President

Date: September 17, 2024

Re: Collegiate High School Updates

Collegiate High School at Northwest Florida State College continues its tradition of academic excellence as demonstrated by the following announcements.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program honors individual students who maintain an elite academic record, participate in school and community activities, demonstrate leadership abilities, are endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® or ACT® scores that confirm the student's earlier performance on the qualifying test. Of the 1.6 million students who entered the National Merit Scholarship competition, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation has determined the Semi-Finalists. These Semi-Finalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors. It is with great honor that we can announce that two of our very own CHS at NWFSC students are Semi-Finalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program. The students will have the opportunity to continue to the last step in the application process for National Merit Scholarships, which in the aggregate are worth nearly \$28 million.

### **Congratulations to the following students:**

Camille Peck Roy Thomas

Northwest Florida State College's CHS also has two students named a Commended Student in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. These students are recognized for their outstanding performance on the PSAT for scoring in the top 50,000 high school students in the nation. Congratulations to Brynne Massey and Carli Emerzian.

Fifteen CHS students are being awarded National Recognition from the College Board. Criteria for this highly competitive award included a GPA of 3.5 or higher and outstanding performance on the PSA/NMSQT, PSAT 10, and/or AP Exams. The following CHS students earned these awards based upon their outstanding academic achievements and received the following awards issued by the College Board:

### National Rural and Small Town Award

Josephine Humphrey Henry Klene Benjamin Maconi Aiturgan McKinney Trevor Moeller Jackson Sparks Nathan Van Emma Lee Verworn Evan Yurack

## National First-Generation Recognition Award

Mallory Brown

## **National Rural and Small Town Award and National Indigenous Recognition Award** Benjamin Bears

## National Rural and Small Town Award and National Hispanic Recognition Award

Sebastian Delamata Sophie Torres Jaydon Funetes

## <u>National Rural and Small Town Award, National Hispanic Recognition Award, and National First-Generation Recognition Award</u>

Ana Reed